Walk for hours without seeing another soul, and if you find yourself stuck in traffic, you can be sure there is a tractor up ahead!

A hidden treasure in the northern fells

Reviews

Accolades

TRIPADVISOR : VOTED 5TH BEST SMALL HOTEL IN THE UK BY TRIPADVISOR TRAVELLERS 2016 !  

The hallmarks of Travellers’ Choice winners are remarkable service, quality and value.

Read our reviews and if you have already enjoyed a stay with us, perhaps we could encourage you to write a review for us? 

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/reviewit 

SATURDAY TELEGRAPH 20TH FEBRUARY 2016 DOG-FRIENDLY STAYS The Telegraph describes us as offering 'unpretentious luxury and genuinely warm hospitality' http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/united-kingdom/articles/Top-10-the-best-pet-friendly-hotels-in-Britain/

Winner Taste of England Gold Award 2013

Trip Advisor:Voted 6th Best Hotel in the UK by Tripadvisor Travellers 2011 and proud to be the only hotel in Cumbria to appear in the top 20 for two consecutive years!

Jim Tanfield, writing for Jamie Oliver.com on 4th December 2013 calls us 'a Christmas gem in Cumbria' and says of his meal: 'The fillet  of beef was so spectacular that I'm finding it hard to hold back saying it was the best plate of food I've ever eaten - there, I said it! The lime posset was insane, as was the lady-wife's hot-smoked salmon starter with cucumber jelly, crab and avocado.  Service was beautiful, coffee in front of the fire after dinner and a black muscat pudding wine was sublime.'  Read more from his blog at http://www.jamieoliver.com/news-and-blogs/blogs/christmas-gem-cumbria/

Winner Taste of Cumbria 2012

Extract from Mystery Shopper Report April 2012:

Overall Score : 96.6%

Key recommendations: Gosh, that is a difficult one as there is nothing we can think of that would add value to the Overwater Hall dining experience.  The evening was just perfect and it would be an insult to try and recommend any improvements.  Thank you for a delightful evening.

Finalists for the Taste of Cumbria Award 2011

Small Hotel of the Year 2010 Northwest of England Tourism Awards

Small Hotel of the Year 2010 Cumbria Tourism Awards

Cumbria Life, January 2012

'Our restaurant reviewers find a hidden treasure in the northern fells - fun food, friendly service and love of local produce...Mix those (local) ingredients within an enchanting Georgian mansion under enthusistic owners and an ambitious chef backed by impeccably mannered serving staff and you have not only a memorable 'secret' venue...but also a romantic retreat with a customer reach way beyond Cumbria'.

 

Manchester Evening News, Gerry Sammon, 17th March 2012 

A love of the Lake District...We enjoyed the sumptuousness and friendliness at Overwater Hall, a country house hotel of the highest standard situated at the foot of Skiddaw. 

Read more at: http://menmedia.co.uk/manchestereveningnews/life_and_style/holidays/s/1488647_a-love-of-the-lake-districtWe enjoyed the sumptuousness and friendliness at Overwater Hall, a country house hotel of the highest standard situated at the foot of Skiddaw.

 

You and Your Wedding, January 2012

Why Overwater Hall ... is a heavenly, romantic first night escape...Read more at http://www.youandyourwedding.co.uk/honeymoons/romantic-breaks/enjoy-a-loved-up-lake-side-romance/5007.html

 

The Good Hotel Guide

Recommended to 'anyone who wants to relax away from the bustle of more touristy areas'

read more at http://www.goodhotelguide.com/IREBY/Hotel/Overwater+Hall?search=1

 

Room Service, by Paddy Burt

'Welcome to a very special place... the Lake District's best-kept secret... 

read more at http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/hotels/738954/Overwater-Hall-Cumbria-room-service.html

Step into an English Classic, Linda Richards, Sunday Sun, April 25th 2010: 'As we pulled up outside the pillared entrance...the owner, keeping a watchful eye out for new arrivals, (who) dashed out to pick up our bags and give us a warm welcome...One of the first things that strikes you as you enter is its homely feel...In the comfortable drawing room you can sit in front of the log fire...(and) wash away the stress of city life...'

 

Award winner in heart of Lakeland, by Nick Hyde (no relation!), Blackpool Gazette, May 29th 2010:  'Award-winning food and quality accommodation comes as standard...it's a place we plan to return to sooner rather than later...'

 

Mystery Shopper Report, 8th April 2010, for Cumbria Tourism Awards The hotel scored 88% overall, with full marks scored for the presentation, facilities and cleanliness of the hotel.  

 

Hotel Inspector Kelly Power reports:

This was a positive visit to a an attractive and well maintained hotel, that offers levels of quality that comfortably exceed requirements within the classification.  Services tested were soundly delivered... Bedrooms are attractively co-ordinated and offer a stylish combination of traditional charm/character and contemporary design and facilities.  High standards of cleanliness were noted throughout all areas.  Another highlight of the stay was food with my restaurant meal showing good use of quality ingredients... Overwater Hall continues to be correctly rated ...with a well deserved high merit score of 82%.

 

From our visitors’ book:

"We chose to hold our wedding at Overwater for many reasons; the setting, your approach, your relaxing and comfortable hotel and the lovely food we have enjoyed when staying with you over the years.  David and I and our guests thoroughly enjoyed all these elements over this last weekend."  

C Hutson on her Wedding Reception held at the Hall on 5th December 2009

"A magical place, run with great tender loving care."   J& F Gribbin

Better than the photographs – a treasure of a find."   J & S Rowley

"This is now our favourite Lakeland place." R & E Page

"All we expected, hoped for and more!" A & S Walker

"This hotel never disappoints – always a lovely visit."   L & D Edmondson

"Nowhere else..."   P & H Armstrong

  • CELEBRATE 25 YEARS AT OVERWATER HALL WITH US... SEE OUR SPECIAL OFFERS PAGE TO BOOK AT 1992 PRICES!

    more details

  • Visit England Awards for Excellence 2013 Gold Winner
  • Good Hotel Guide Editor’s Choice Award Logo - Dog-friendly Hotels hotels
  • Laterooms.com The Best Kept Secret Awards 2014 - Winner: Best Service
  • Good Hotel Guide Editor’s Choice Award Logo - Walking hotels
  • Read the The Good Hotel Guide review
  • Trip Advisor Travellers Choice 2013 Winner
  • The British Travel Awards
  • Cumbria Tourism Awards 2012 Winner
  • AA 2 Rosettes